Total Pageviews

Monday, September 18, 2017


Bank Square Books, Mystic, Connecticut, owned by one of this year’s National Book Award judges for fiction.
The National Book Foundation, presenter of the annual National Book Award announced the semi-finalists for 2017’s awards in fiction.   The finalists will be announced October 4 with the NBA Gala announcing the winners in fiction on November 15.


Elliot Ackerman, “Dark at the Crossing”
Knopf / Penguin Random House

Daniel Alarcón, “The King Is Always Above the People: Stories”
Riverhead Books / Penguin Random House

Charmaine Craig, “Miss Burma”
Grove Press / Grove Atlantic

Jennifer Egan, “Manhattan Beach”
Scribner / Simon & Schuster

Lisa Ko, “The Leavers”
Algonquin Books / Workman

Min Jin Lee, “Pachinko”
Grand Central Publishing / Hachette

Carmen Maria Machado, “Her Body and Other Parties: Stories”
Graywolf Press

Margaret Wilkerson Sexton, “A Kind of Freedom”
Counterpoint Press

Jesmyn Ward, “Sing, Unburied, Sing”
Scribner / Simon & Schuster

Carol Zoref, “Barren Island”
New Issues Poetry & Prose

Judges to date:
Alexander Chee, author
Dave Eggers, publisher, author
Annie Philbrick, book store owner
Karolina Waclawiak, author
Chair, Jacqueline Woodson, author

National Book Foundation reported 394 books were submitted for consideration and culled to ten by the judges. Eligibility for the award was limited to novels/collections published between December 1, 2016 and November 30, 2017.


No comments:

Post a Comment