Total Pageviews

Wednesday, July 10, 2019


Guggenheim Museum, New York City.                Photo: Phyllis Shess,
The 20th century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright (United States of America) – The property consists of eight buildings in the United States designed by the architect during the first half of the 20th century. These include the Fallingwater (Mill Run, Pennsylvania), the Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House (Madison, Wisconsin) and the Guggenheim Museum (New York). These buildings reflect the “organic architecture” developed by Wright, which includes an open plan, a blurring of the boundaries between exterior and interior and the unprecedented use of materials such as steel and concrete. Each of these buildings offers innovative solutions to the needs for housing, worship, work or leisure. Wright's work from this period had a strong impact on the development of modern architecture in Europe.—Unesco.

Fallingwater, Mill Run, Pennsylvania.          Photo: Phyllis Shess,
Taliesin West, near Scottsdale, AZ.          Photo: Phyllis Shess,
Hollyhock House, Los Angeles
Taliesin East, Iowa County, WI
 The Unity Temple, Oak Park, IL
Robie House, Chicago
Jacobs House, Madison WI

No comments:

Post a Comment