Total Pageviews

Wednesday, June 14, 2023


IS THIS THE WINNER? Just one of 19 entries in this year’s Matsumoto Prize competition, Hilltop Retreat in Chapel Hill, NC, was entered by Abbie Lee Roehm of AIA/Paces & Roehm Architecture. Photo: Farid Sani.

Everyone anywhere can vote. 

 But first what is the Matsumoto Prize? 

 It is North Carolina’s highest annual honor (since 2012) exclusively for Modernist residential architecture. This year’s prize voting is hosted by NCModernist and sponsored by Fitch Lumber/Marvin. 

Being considered are 19 houses from Asheville to the Atlantic. Awards will be given for first, second, and third selected by the public via online voting. 

You don’t have to be a resident of North Carolina. But the prizes showcase exceptional Modernist architects and designers in North Carolina. 

Voting Deadline: July 5, 5 pm ET. 

CLICK HERE TO VOTE and to see this year’s lineup of voter-eligible houses. The link will also provide access to the entry architects, project photos, videos and drawings.  

Who is George Matsumoto? NCModernist created the Matsumoto Prize in 2012 in honor of Mr. Matsumoto, one of the founding members of North Carolina State University’s College of Design. 

CLICK HERE to see past winners.  

CLICK HERE to register for the free awards ceremony.


Here’s another home in the running for this year’s Matsamoto Prize. Called the Lookout, it’s located in Buncombe County, NC and designed by Nathan Bryant of Altura Architects. Photo: Keith Isaacs Photography.  

Editor’s Note. views this voting presentation is highly creative by all those involved. It showcases a number of top designs for the public to view. These homes might have been overlooked if it were not for this call for public input

No comments:

Post a Comment