Total Pageviews

Friday, June 23, 2023



GUEST BLOG / By Sandra Herera, CBS Sports
--The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup kicks off in July and what a tournament it will be. The entire globe will be tuned into soccer's biggest stage as 32 nations battle it out for a chance to raise the cup. 

It's the first time the women's tournament will feature 32 teams, and each country has been split into eight groups of four teams, just like the format of the men's edition. 

The U.S. women's national team have been drawn into Group E and they will kick off their World Cup title defense on July 21 against Vietnam. 


“The task of selecting a World Cup Team is never easy, but I’m proud of the players for their work ethic and focus during the process and of our coaching staff for doing the work to put together the best team possible,” said head coach Vlatko Andonovski. “It’s the players that make the biggest impact on our environment, they push each other to be better and I know as a group they are extremely motivated to make our country proud at the World Cup. Every player has a different journey to get to this point so our roster has some amazing stories and we have a really good mix of veterans and younger players.” 

The Women’s World Cup roster will make up the squad for the USA’s final match before departing for New Zealand. The USA’s Women’s World Cup Send-Off Match presented by Visa will take place on July 9 at PayPal Park in San Jose, Calif. (4 p.m. ET on TNT, Telemundo, Universo and Peacock) and the World Cup Team will depart for New Zealand from the Bay Area. 

 This summer (which will be winter in New Zealand and Australia) the USA will face World Cup debutantes Vietnam and Portugal in the group stage, along with 2019 Women’s World Cup runners-up Netherlands. 

The USA will play the entirety of the group stage in New Zealand. 

The U.S. will open Group E play against Vietnam on July 22 at Eden Park in Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau (1 p.m. local / 9 p.m. ET on July 21 on FOX, Telemundo and Peacock), which will also serve as the host venue for the Opening Ceremony of the 2023 World Cup on July 20 when New Zealand plays Norway. 

The USA then faces Netherlands on July 27 at Wellington Regional Stadium in Wellington/Te Whanganui-a-Tara (1 p.m. local / 9 p.m. ET on July 26 on FOX, Telemundo and Peacock), followed by Portugal on Aug. 1 at Eden Park in Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau (7 p.m. local / 3 a.m. ET on FOX, Telemundo and Peacock). 

USA Coach Vlatko Andonovski

"We are proud to have been one of the teams leading the way for women’s international soccer and I know the tournament will once again show the world how great these players are across all 32 teams. Our players understand the challenges and the competitive environment we are heading into, and they love it. We have a roster with depth and versatility and that will help us take on all the challenges that will be coming our way.” “We are expecting the level of play at this World Cup to be the best it’s ever been, and all the teams must keep up with that growth,” said Andonovski “For years, we’ve been able to see first-hand where the game is going and that’s exciting. 



The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup runs from July 20-Aug. 20 in 10 stadiums and nine host cities, five in Australia and four in New Zealand. 

This will be the first Women’s World Cup featuring 32 nations, up from 24 in the previous two tournaments, and all 64 games will be broadcast across the U.S. live in English on FOX (29 matches) and FOX Sports 1 (35 matches) and on tablets and mobile devices through the FOX Sports App. 

All games will also be broadcast in Spanish on Telemundo (33 matches) and the Universo cable network (31 matches). All matches will also be streamed in Spanish 

No comments:

Post a Comment