Total Pageviews

Monday, April 17, 2017


This cartoon by Jim Morin of the Miami Herald won the editorial cartooning Pulitzer Prize, 2017

Public Service
Winner: New York Daily News and ProPublica
Finalists: Chicago Tribune; Houston Chronicle

Breaking News Reporting
Winner: Staff of East Bay Times
Finalists: The Dallas Morning News staff; The Orlando Sentinel Staff

Investigative Reporting
Winner: Eric Frye of Charleston Gazette-Mail
Finalists: Michael J. Berens and Patricia Callahan of Chicago Tribune; Steve Reilly of USA Today Network

In April 2016, the Int'l
Consortium of
Investigative Journalists
released "The Panama
Papers," an unprescented
investigation, which
revealed the offshore
financial links of some
of the world's most
prominent figures.
Explanatory Reporting
Winner: International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and Miami Herald
Finalists: Joan Garrett McClane and Joy Lukachick Smith of Chattanooga Times Free Press; Julia Angwin, Jeff Larson, Surya Mattu, Lauren Kirchner and Terry Parris Jr. of ProPublica; Staff of National Geographic.

Local Reporting
Winner: The Salt Lake Tribune Staff
Finalists: Jenna Russell, Maria Cramer, Michael Rezendes, Todd Wallack and Scott Helman of the Boston Globe; Michael Schwirtz, Michael Winerip and Robert Gebeloff of the New York Times

National Reporting
Winner: David A. Fahrenthold of The Washington Post
Finalists: Renee Dudley, Steve Stecklow, Alexandra Harney and other members of the Reuters Staff; The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Staff

International Reporting
Winner: The New York Times Staff
Finalists: Chris Hamby of BuzzFeed News; International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and the Miami Herald; the Wall Street Journal Staff

Feature Writing
Winner: C.J. Chivers of the New York Times
Finalists: Adam Entous and Devlin Barrett of the Wall Street Journal; Eli Saslow of The Washington Post

Winner: Peggy Noonan of the Wall Street Journal
Finalists: Dahleen Glanton of Chicago Tribune; Trudy Rubin of Philadelphia Media Network

Winner: Hilton Als of the New Yorker
Finalists: Laura Reiley of Tampa Bay Times; Ty Burr of The Boston Globe

Editorial Writing
Winner: Art Cullen of the Storm Lake Times
Finalists: Fred Hiatt of The Washington Post; Joe Holley of Houston Chronicle

Editorial Cartooning
Winner: Jim Morin of Miami Herald
Finalists: Jen Sorensen, freelance cartoonist; Steve Sack of Star Tribune

Breaking News Photography
Winner: Daniel Berehulak, freelance photographer
Finalists: Jonathan Bachman, freelance photographer; Photography Staff of the Associated Press
“For powerful storytelling through images published in The New York Times showing the callous disregard for human life in the Philippines brought about by a government assault on drug dealers and users.”
Feature Photography
Winner: E. Jason Wambsgans of Chicago Tribune
Finalists: Jake May of the Flint Journal; Katie Falkenberg of Los Angeles Times


Winner: “The Underground Railroad,” by Colson Whitehead
Finalists: “Imagine Me Gone,” by Adam Haslett; “The Sport of Kings,” by C. E. Morgan

Winner: “Sweat,” by Lynn Nottage
Finalists: “A 24-Decade History of Popular Music,” by Taylor Mac; “The Wolves,” by Sarah DeLappe

Winner: “Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy,” by Heather Ann Thompson
Finalists: “Brothers at Arms: American Independence and the Men of France and Spain Who Saved It,” by Larrie D. Ferreiro; “New England Bound: Slavery and Colonization in Early America,” by Wendy Warren

Biography or Autobiography
Winner: “The Return: Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between,” by Hisham Matar
Finalists: “In the Darkroom,” by Susan Faludi; “When Breath Becomes Air,” by Paul Kalanithi

Winner: “Olio,” by Tyehimba Jess
Finalists: “Collected Poems: 1950-2012,” by Adrienne Rich; “XX,: by Campbell McGrath

General Nonfiction
Winner: “Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City,” by Matthew Desmond
Finalists: “In a Different Key: The Story of Autism,” by John Donvan and Caren Zucker; “The Politics of Mourning: Death and Honor in Arlington National Cemetery,” by Micki McElya

Winner: “Angel’s Bone,” by Du Yun
Finalists: “Bound to the Bow,” by Ashley Fure; “Ipsa Dixit,” by Kate Soper


No comments:

Post a Comment