Total Pageviews

Friday, January 30, 2015


At 19-stories, the Price Tower in Bartlesville, Oklahoma, is the only
high-rise ever completed by Frank Lloyd Wright. The Tower is
one of ten Wright projects designated as the first nominations
by the United States Government in the field of Modern
Architecture.     Photos: Phyllis Shess, Pillar to Post blog, 2014.
FIRST U.S. NOMINATION FOR MODERN ARCHITECTURE--Today, the United States announced the nomination of a group of 10 buildings in seven states designed by American architect Frank Lloyd Wright for inclusion on the World Heritage List.

The UNESCO World Heritage List recognizes the “outstanding universal value” of the most significant cultural and natural sites on the planet.

The nomination, “Key Works of Modern Architecture by Frank Lloyd Wright,” is the first World Heritage nomination by the United States in the field of modern architecture, and includes Unity Temple in Oak Park, Illinois; Frederick C. Robie House in Chicago, Illinois; Taliesin in Spring Green, Wisconsin; Hollyhock House in Los Angeles, California; Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pennsylvania; Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House in Madison, Wisconsin; Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona; Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City; Price Tower in Bartlesville, Oklahoma; and Marin County Civic Center in San Rafael, California.

The UNESCO World Heritage designation brings with it significant international attention, prestige, and increased tourism. The United States served as the prime architect of the World Heritage Convention, an international treaty created to promote conservation and preservation of important natural and cultural sites.

There are currently 1007 designated sites in 161 countries around the world, including such iconic places as the Statue of Liberty, the Taj Mahal, the Sydney Opera House, and the Grand Canyon. U.S. leadership at UNESCO on natural and cultural heritage preservation promotes appreciation of important U.S. sites, protects endangered treasures, and supports local economies through tourism.

Other UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the United States:

Price Tower, 2014

No comments:

Post a Comment